retroarch will not load

Help. After updating to 1.5.8 my retroarch no longer works. In Emulationstation if I select a rom such as a Nes or PcEngine game the system goes to the desktop then returns directly to the rom list. Also if I go to the desktop, select applications, games, and then retroarch, nothing happens. Not even a change of the mouse curser to show something loading. What can I do? Is there a way to reinstall retroarch simply?

Please note. I am completely new to linux. I am having to crash course teach myself because of the indiego. (The more I learn though it does seem pretty awesome.) Treat me as if I know nothing. Maybe someone else is in a similar boat.

Comments

• edited December 2016
    Can you please open a terminal and type "retroarch"

If it crashes, it should print an error message in the terminal.

Did nes and pcengine work before ? Or did you try them the first time after the update.
    Some libretto-core are useless (slow) and I am going to replace them with stand-alone versions of the emulators.

Libretto-cores are updated independently when you trigger an online update. So if "they" (the libretto maintainers) change a core I can just react and change it : )

What could cause it too is that the update wasn't complete. Just repeat the online update or type in terminal

sudo apt-get update
    Then
    sudo apt-get upgrade
    Then
    sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

If you see an error message, please report.
  • Ok, I tried retroarch in a terminal. Nothing happened. No errors reported. I then followed the command line instructions one at a time. Only the first command had a download and install. The others checked but said nothing updated, nothing installed. After I checked retroarch again through emulationstation, clicking through the application menu, and typing retroarch in terminal. Again all the same results. No retroarch.
  • Hmm
    Can you try the new update to 1.5.9 ?
  • Ok we can try to reinstall it for you..